Baseball lands record 16 onto 2024 All-ACC Academic Team

Virginia Tech celebrates fourth most selections among ACC programs

2024 All-ACC Academic Baseball Team

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Fostering a rich balance in high athletic and academic achievement, the Virginia Tech baseball team proudly placed 16 student-athletes (program record) onto the 2024 All-ACC Academic Team, as announced by the conference on Friday.
Virginia Tech's 16 honorees in 2024 exceeded its 2023, 15-member class by one, reflecting an incredible academic and athletic trend under the leadership of head coach John Szefc, who arrived in Blacksburg ahead of the 2018 season. Considering the 2024 class, the Hokies' 16 mentions ranked as the fourth most among the league's membership, trailing those of Duke (20), Louisville (18) and Clemson (17).
Among Virginia Tech's multi-year awardees, junior third baseman Carson DeMartini garnered praise for the third consecutive season while senior utility Eddie Eisert and fifth-year pitcher Matthew Siverling both celebrated their second career accolades.
In total, 13 Virginia Tech student-athletes were honored for the first time, highlighted by sophomore catcher Henry Cooke, fifth-year pitcher Grant Manning, fifth-year pitcher Jeremy Neff, junior pitcher Wyatt Parliament, fifth-year pitcher David Shoemaker, junior pitcher Jacob Stretch, redshirt-junior pitcher Sam Tackett and fifth-year outfielder Ben Watson.
Five members of the Hokies' freshman class were also recognized for the first time, including pitcher Madden Clement, pitcher Preston Crowl, infielder Ethan Gibson, catcher David McCann and pitcher Brett Renfrow.

Virginia Tech Baseball
2024 All-ACC Academic Team Honorees
Name Class Position Major Honor
Madden Clement Fr. P Sports Media and Analytics 1st
Henry Cooke So. C Agribusiness 1st
Preston Crowl Fr. P Communication 1st
Carson DeMartini Jr. IF Management Consulting and Analytics 3rd
Eddie Eisert Sr. IF/OF Consumer Studies 2nd
Ethan Gibson Fr. IF Business 1st
Grant Manning Gr. P Communication 1st
David McCann Fr. C Economics 1st
Jeremy Neff Gr. P Business Administration 1st
Wyatt Parliament Jr. P Management Consulting and Analytics 1st
Brett Renfrow Fr. P Communication 1st
David Shoemaker Gr. P Agricultural and Life Sciences 1st
Matthew Siverling Gr. P Industrial and Systems Engineering 2nd
Jacob Stretch Jr. P Sociology 1st
Sam Tackett R-Jr. UT Management Consulting and Analytics 1st
Ben Watson Gr. OF Building/Construction Science and Management 1st